Top 10 Creds (2020 Edition)

It’s almost expected of people who love theme parks to be able to rattle of a list of 10-or-so of their favourite rides. For some it’s easy, for others it’s an impossible task.

I know some people like to give a score for their rides, but I hate doing that. My idea for determining my Top 10 is as follows.. I ask: ‘If I had the choice and ability to go on one ride I’ve been on, right now, what would I choose?’. That’s my favourite. Then, ‘Once I’ve done that, what would I choose next?’. And so on. It’s not perfect as your mood can change, but it works.

Anyway, without further ado, here’s my Top 10 creds…

1. Taron (Phantasialand)
Taron is such a complete experience of a ride. Long ride experience, with great moments of airtime and intensity, along with a really good flow to the ride and an amazing surrounding area to go with it. And, most importantly, it’s just a ton of fun. Some rides can be good, but not always leave me with a smile on my face. Taron always leaves me grinning from start until well after I’ve gotten off.

My least favourite section of Taron, yet it’s still rather speedy!

2. Taiga (Linnanmaki)
Simply put: Taiga is phenomenal. The second half of the ride is literally full of experiences that are better than the ‘highlight’ moments on a solid 95% of coasters out there. The first half is perhaps a little too on the tame side, but it’s totally necessary to build you up into the craziness of the second half. I slightly prefer Taron, but the fact I can’t really explain why other than “just ‘cos” shows how close it is between these two.

The second launch, leading to an insane sequence of elements

3. Untamed (Walibi Holland)
Untamed is quintessential Walibi Holland. A should-be intimidating wooden/steel multi-inverting ride given a monster name, yet features calming theming such as illuminated ‘LOVE’ signs, and an oddly relaxing epidemic lounge playlist. It shouldn’t work, yet it does. The ride itself is an airtime machine, particularly in the second half where you spend more time being flung out of your seat than sitting in it. And the ‘270º double inverting corner stall’ inversion, whilst ridiculously named, is ridiculously fun.

Even the logo of Untamed is pretty neat

4. Helix (Liseberg)
To me, Helix redefined the launch coaster. When I thought of launches before this, they were seen as a way to get a train to go fast quickly, replacing the need for a lift hill. Helix instead just uses its launches to give the ride a boost of speed, to complement the natural surroundings which help the ride build up speed. It’s so cleverly executed, and the ride really just left me stunned.

5. Oz’Iris (Parc Asterix)
The newest edition to my Top 10. Oz’iris is probably the first in my list that I would describe as having a sense of ‘elegance’ to it too. Unlike the creds above it, this isn’t a particularly “relentless” ride, but instead is designed to flow and have every element complement every other element. And it does that perfectly.

6. Balder (Liseberg)
A Woodie with lots of airtime. Classic really, despite Balder not even being 20 years old. I’ll admit that whilst this has stood the test of time and skirted around the bottom half of my Top 10 since I rode it in 2017, my memory of it has become hazy. I look forward to re-riding it one day, but until then, this is in danger of tumbling down the rankings.

7. Lost Gravity (Walibi Holland)
Lost Gravity is another ride which encapsulates the heart of Walibi Holland. Aesthetically, the ride looks great, especially with the non-standard yellow/black track design. The ‘reserved gravity’ theming, from the likes of shipping containers to upside down helicopters, sounds a bit tacky on paper, and can even look it in photos, but it just..works? And then the ride itself – it’s a little short, it could be better, but the first drop and couple of airtime hills more than makes up for any other shortcomings in my book!

Lost Gravity has been a grower for me, but the colour scheme – and the first drop – were always high up on my list!

8. Nemesis (Alton Towers)
Nemesis is a masterful feat of engineering. In many ways, Taron was the new age version of Nemesis in my opinion, with Nemesis featuring a near-new ride concept and fantastic style and concepts to match. I find it a bit too intense for my liking at points, which has seen it slowly slip down from my #1 spot over the years. But there’s no denying that this is a fantastic ride.

It’s not easy summing up Nemesis in one photo, but this does a good job

9. Joris en de Draak (Efteling)
Perhaps a controversial choice, and even more controversial in that I’m lumping both sides of this racing coaster into one ranking. But I’m going with the technicality that this list is my Top 10 coaster attractions, not just Top 10 coasters. Each individual cred is a decent little layout, but the experience is heightened greatly by the racing element for me. And most importantly, just leaves me with that great big smile on my face at the end of each ride.

10. Troy (Toverland)
And rounding off the Top 10 is another Dutch cred, and another Woodie. Troy is unlike the other woodies here in that I find it’s more of an intense Woodie, rather than a more airtime based one. But it still features that ‘out-of-control’ness that all my favourite woodies have, and leaves you wanting to cling on for dear life in the best possible way.

The new-in-2018 entrance to Toverland means you get some wonderful views of Troy!

And so there we have it! I don’t like heaping expectations on rides I may ride in the future and saying ‘This could be a Top 10 ride for me’. And even if I did, I don’t think I would have thought the likes of Untamed, Lost Gravity or Joris would be where they are. But with fingers crossed that I’ll be able to go to Belgium this year and try out the likes of Kondaa and The Ride to Happiness, it will be interesting to see if this changes in a year’s time!

One thought on “Top 10 Creds (2020 Edition)

  1. Pingback: Geeky Analysis of My Coaster Rankings | Just Another Theme Park Blog

Leave a comment